The College Fix Interview

Some time in December 2021, Daniel Nuccio from The College Fix interviewed me over email. The article just appeared a couple of days ago — see below. I appreciate it very much that Daniel used the acronym I like to use: DIE, and not DEI or any other ordering of the 3 letters.

I sincerely hope more scientists — especially the senior ones — would pick up their ovaries and balls and push back strongly against the DIE Religion. Meritocracy, Reason, and Scientific Integrity are foundational to a robust and free society.

Update, 31 March 2022: I wrote to 30+ members of the CWRU Board of Trustees to complain about getting censored by CWRU Physics, not because I have a pressing need to view its Twitter pages, but to hold my alma mater accountable to its own “Freedom of Expression” (Chicago-like) statement. Unfortunately I received very few replies; though I was told by the Office of President Eric Kaler that I would be receiving a response from the Office of the Provost.

On the other hand, I had an exchange with one Board member, where his final message read as follows.

Yi Zen – this is my last reply and it is from me personally – not from CWRU. With courtesy your complaint simply does not deserve this much attention. You are right, I have not read your comments carefully, and I do not intend to. …… I’m sure you are academically smart but you are demonstrating a form of social stupidity. Many years ago I graduated phi beta kappa in physics, so I value academic excellence but I have also learned the limits of academic excellence. We need diversity at CWRU, and we have no interest in a public debate on the value of diversity… at least not with someone who seems not to be open minded. CWRU has more important issues than yours and time is limited. The university is doing you a favor by not distributing your racist comments. There are many kinds of merit and intelligence. As you become older and wiser you will learn this. Your definition of merit is simply way too narrow. Bottom line – free speech is not freedom to attack others. I suggest that you focus your attention on issues that are more constructive. Free speech is not freedom to shout “fire” in a crowded theater. You are trying to start a fight on this and we have no interest in fighting. ……

I made sure to let this man know, not only does he not deserve to be on the Board of Trustees, he also just proved why I am in fact fighting for the freedom of expression to be respected at CWRU.

Author: Yi-Zen Chu

I am a theoretical physicist, with research interests spanning gravitation and field theory, particle cosmology and Mathematica software development.

4 thoughts on “The College Fix Interview”

  1. Thank you for your courage. I have been dismayed by the takeover of the scientific community by the DIE activist movement.

    Like

  2. I prefer to use the following acronym ≡ IED to describe the agenda driven and purposeful destruction of science as well as many other fields of study. You are most certainly not alone even though many cowards in the academe/academia prefer to protect their salaries and grant funding over standing up to weak department chairs, preferring to hide behind tenure, enabling the anti-science mob mentality, contribute to the attempted elimination of meritocracy as well as critical thinking and logic, etc.

    Like

Leave a comment